如何防止泄漏 IP

如何防止泄漏 IP

VPN(虚拟专用网络)允许您保护通过互联网发送的信息。为隐私、安全或方便起见,您可能想要隐藏您的在线活动。

然而,如果您的 VPN 正在泄漏您的 IP(互联网协议)地址或其他 DNS(域名系统)信息,您可能会面临若干风险。如果根本没有使用 VPN,则风险会显著增高。

我们创建本指南旨在帮助您通过简明的语言理解这项技术,我们将向您展示如何保护自己免受 IP 地址、DNS 和 WebRTC 相关泄漏的危害。

什么是 IP 泄漏,有哪些风险?

什么是 IP 泄漏,有哪些风险?

如果您不熟悉互联网安全,让我们从头开始了解。IP 地址可识别互联网上的计算机。这就好比 123 大街的实际家庭住址,只不过它采用的是一种其他计算机都能理解的格式。

您的 VPN 应隐藏您的 IP 地址。如果它没有尽到职责,同时还暴露了您的真实地址,那么您可能会遇到下列某些问题。

隐私风险

隐私风险

IP 地址一旦暴露就会透露有关您的一些重要信息。首先,人们能找出您的位置。如果有人想要找到您,便可以从使用您的真实 IP 地址开始着手。

其次,大多数 DNS 服务器会记录您的浏览历史记录。我们将在本指南的后面部分进一步介绍 DNS 服务器的工作方式。但最重要的一点是,您的浏览信息可能会被政府官员、营销人员或黑客所利用。此浏览历史记录还会显示您的某些个人帐户信息。

一旦有人知晓您的 IP 地址、浏览历史记录、帐户信息和位置,他们就能查出您的个人身份。

我们不会记录您的任何浏览信息,也不会公开您的帐户信息,所以您的身份很安全。我们仅收集与访问哪些网站以及使用哪些服务相关的匿名聚合数据,我们从不会将这些数据与个人绑定。作为一层额外的保护,我们的软件会加密在您和我们的 DNS 服务器之间发送的数据。

保护您的隐私,立即获取 Hotspot Shield

获取 Hotspot Shield
安全风险

安全风险

当您身处审查互联网流量的国家/地区时,会出现 IP 泄漏的最大安全风险。如果一个非常严格的政府发现您在他们的国家/地区内访问了阻止的网站,您对某些网站的访问可能会受到拦截,更甚者还会惹上麻烦。

另一种常见的安全风险并不与 IP 泄漏明确相关,但在关于安全的这一部分中值得一提。如果在公共 Wi-Fi 网络(如咖啡店或机场)上未使用 VPN,则黑客可能会拦截您的私人信息,如密码、银行帐号和信用卡信息。

这要比 IP 泄漏危险得多。无论何时登录公共网络,都应始终使用 VPN。

保护自己免受这些风险带来的损失,立即获取 Hotspot Shield

获取 Hotspot Shield
方便问题

方便问题

IP 地址泄漏可能导致的另一个问题是,由于地理限制,您可能无法访问某些网站。某些内容提供商仅允许人们从特定的国家/地区访问他们的内容。

如果您的 VPN 未正确掩蔽您的 IP,您将无法访问相应内容。如果您希望在其他国家/地区度假期间观看您最喜爱的节目,这可能会令人非常失望。

如何测试 IP 是否泄漏

如何测试 IP 是否泄漏

幸运的是,执行 VPN IP 测试非常容易。首先,关闭您的 VPN,然后前往 Google,搜索“我的 IP 是什么”,您将会在搜索结果的顶部看到您的公共 IP。

然后,打开您的 VPN,再次运行搜索。如果看到相同的 IP 地址,则说明您的 IP 已泄漏。如果 IP 地址不同,则说明您受到了保护,因为您现在使用的是 VPN 中的 IP 地址。

如何修复互联网协议地址泄漏

如何修复互联网协议地址泄漏

考虑到与泄漏关联的所有潜在风险、麻烦以及隐私损失,您需要尽快找到解决方案。此外,如果您根本没有使用 VPN,那么情况会比 IP 泄漏更加糟糕。

Hotspot Shield 累计下载已超过 600,000,000 次,受到全球用户的信赖。单击此按钮开始使用,只需几分钟时间即可修复您的 IP 地址泄漏。

“已断开连接”泄漏和我们的自毁开关支持您的原因

“已断开连接”泄漏和我们的自毁开关支持您的原因

现在,让我们来进一步了解与 IP 地址泄漏相关的某些其他风险。“已断开连接”泄漏是一大风险。

就像互联网连接一样,VPN 连接构建地非常强大。但是,由于环境干扰、内部维护或第三方服务中断,连接有时会短暂断开。

如果 VPN 连接断开,您的计算机会继续发送互联网流量到不安全的 DNS 服务器,可能会暴露您的 IP 地址和其他信息。因此,在重新建立安全的 VPN 连接前,由您的 VPN 软件阻止计算机发送互联网数据。

我们使用自毁开关功能处理此问题,即使在 VPN 连接断开的情况下,这也可以让您安心地受到保护。只需在初始设置期间打开它,即可享受到保护。

要了解有关自毁开关的更多信息,请阅读本指南。

DNS 泄漏也是一种风险

DNS 泄漏也是一种风险

安全和隐私的另一个风险是 DNS 泄漏。DNS 泄漏的风险与 IP 泄漏的风险类似。

DNS 服务器是一种充当“地址簿”的服务器,可帮助浏览器和应用基于域名找出查找网站和后端服务的方式。

如果未使用 VPN,则默认 DNS 服务器通常是您的 ISP(Internet 服务提供商)DNS 服务器。您的浏览信息和应用使用会记录在这些服务器上。

当您使用我们的 VPN 服务时,您使用的是我们的安全 DNS 服务器,我们不会记录您的浏览历史记录。此外,会对您到我们 DNS 服务器的连接进行端对端加密。

别忘了检查 WebRTC 泄漏

别忘了检查 WebRTC 泄漏

即使您正在使用 VPN,也会出现多个可以泄漏 IP 地址的“意想不到的错误”。它被称为 WebRTC(Web 实时通信)泄漏。

WebRTC 允许浏览器内部的实时通信。这使得 Slack 等应用程序或浏览器推送通知能够在事件发生后立即进行更新。

这很方便,但也有一个缺点。即使打开您的 VPN,WebRTC 也能默认泄漏您的真实地址。WebRTC 协议通过设计实现此目的,即使是最好的 VPN 也无法始终保护您。

因此,如果使用默认启用 WebRTC 的浏览器,则采取必要的预防措施这一点十分重要。在选择的浏览器中搜索如何关闭 WebRTC,或查找是否存在可安装用来禁用 WebRTC 的 WebRTC 阻止插件。请记住,禁用 WebRTC 可能会导致部分网站(如 Google Hangouts)无法正常工作,因此您可能需要在特定情况下启用它。

常见问题

常见问题

如果对 IP 地址泄漏和其他安全相关的问题仍有疑问,您并非孤立无援。以下是我们了解到的针对最常见问题的解答。

  • 导致 IP 泄漏的原因是什么?

    IP 泄漏主要是由 VPN 提供商引起的,该提供商没有针对一般泄漏提供充分保护的技术,也没有为“已断开连接”泄漏提供自毁开关。Hotspot Shield 提供最新的技术来保护您免受这些泄漏的危害。

  • VPN 如何工作?

    在此处阅读我们的 VPN 指南。

  • DNS 如何工作?

    DNS(域名系统)是一种在人类可读域名和计算机可以理解的 IP 地址之间充当转换器的系统。例如,网站可能拥有如下所示的域名和 IP 地址:

    • 域名:somewebsite.com
    • IP 地址:143.84.23.14

    当您想要在浏览器上访问 somewebsite.com 时,只需将其键入搜索/URL 栏即可。自此,您的计算机可以连接到大多数方便访问的 DNS 服务器(通常是您的 ISP)以便在托管网站时获取服务器的 IP 地址。

    浏览器获得网站服务器的 IP 地址后,它会针对您正在寻找的信息发出请求。大多数 DNS 服务器不在乎您的隐私,并且会记录通过服务器发出的所有请求。

    使用 Hotspot Shield 时,您将仅通过完全加密的连接使用我们的专用 DNS 服务器,因此您能肯定的一点是,您的浏览信息不会被记录。如果不使用我们的专用 DNS 服务器,您永远不会知道谁将访问您的信息。

对在线安全仍有疑问?

对在线安全仍有疑问?

如果您对在线安全程度还有任何其他顾虑,请在此处联系我们。我们能够对您的情况进行评估,并帮助您找到最适合的解决方案。

How to prevent an IP leak

How to prevent an IP leak

Virtual Private Networks (VPNs) allow you to secure information that you send over the Internet so you can hide your online activity for privacy and security reasons.

However, if your VPN is leaking your Internet Protocol (IP) address, Domain Name System (DNS), and WebRTC information, you could be exposed to several privacy and security risks.

We wrote this guide to help you understand this technology in plain terms, and to show you how Hotspot Shield VPN can protect you from leaks related to your IP address, DNS, and WebRTC.

If you want to skip this guide and protect yourself from these leaks right now, download Hotspot Shield VPN.

What is an IP leak and what are the risks?

What is an IP leak and what are the risks?

If you are new to internet security, let’s start from the beginning. Your IP address identifies your computer on the Internet. It’s like a physical home address of 123 Main Street, except it is in a format that other computers can understand.

Your VPN is supposed to hide your IP address. If it is not doing its job and exposing your real address, then here are some of the problems you can face.

Privacy risks

Privacy risks

When your IP address is exposed, it can reveal a couple important pieces of information about you. First, people can figure out your location. If someone wants to find you, using your real IP address can be a good place to start.

Second, your browsing history is recorded on most DNS servers. We will get more into how DNS servers work later in this guide. But the bottom line is that your browsing information can be used by government officials, marketers, or hackers. This browsing history can also reveal some of your personal account information.

When someone knows your IP address, browsing history, account information, and location, they can figure out your personal identity.

We do not log any information about your browsing and we do not disclose your account information, so your identity stays safe. We collect only anonymous, aggregate data about what websites are visited and what services are used, which can never be tied to an individual. As an added layer of protection, our software encrypts data that is sent between you and our DNS servers.

Protect your privacy and get Hotspot Shield now

Get Hotspot Shield
Security risks

Security risks

The biggest security risk of an IP leak is present when you are in countries that censor Internet traffic. You could get blocked from certains sites, or even worse, get into trouble if a very restrictive government finds out that you have visited blocked websites from inside their country.

Another general security risk does not have to do with an IP leak specifically, but it is worth mentioning in this section on security. If you are not using a VPN on a public Wi-Fi network (like at a coffee shop or airport), hackers can potentially intercept your private information like passwords, bank account numbers, and credit card information.

This is much more dangerous than an IP leak. Whenever you are on a public network, you should always use a VPN.

Protect yourself from these risks and get Hotspot Shield today

Get Hotspot Shield
Convenience issues

Convenience issues

Another issue that can arise from a leaked IP address is that you may not be able to access certain websites because of geographic restrictions. Some content providers only allow people from certain countries to access their content.

If your VPN is not masking your IP correctly, you will not be able to access that content. This can be very disappointing when you were hoping to watch your favorite shows while on vacation in another country.

How to test if your IP is being leaked

How to test if your IP is being leaked

Luckily, doing a VPN IP test is easy. First, turn off your VPN, then go to Google and search for “what is my ip” and you will see your public IP at the top of the search results.

Then turn on your VPN and run the search again. If you see the same IP address, then you have an IP leak. If the IP address is different, you are protected because you are now using an IP address from your VPN.

How to fix an Internet Protocol address leak

How to fix an Internet Protocol address leak

With all the potential risks, headaches and loss of privacy associated with a leak, you need to find a solution as soon as possible. Again, if you aren’t using a VPN at all, then that is even worse than an IP leak.

Hotspot Shield has been downloaded over 600,000,000 times and is trusted by people around the world. Click this button to get started and fix your IP address leak in just a few minutes.

The “dropped connection” leak and why our Kill Switch has your back

The “dropped connection” leak and why our Kill Switch has your back

Now let’s get into some other risks that are related to IP address leaks. A big one is the “dropped connection” leak.

Just like an Internet connection, a VPN connection is built to be very robust. But there are times when the connection can drop momentarily, due to environmental interference, internal maintenance, or third party service outages.

If your VPN connection drops, your computer will continue to send Internet traffic to an unsecured DNS server and your IP address and other information can be exposed. Therefore, it is up to your VPN software to stop your computer from sending Internet data until the secure VPN connection can be re-established.

We handle this with our Kill Switch feature and it gives you peace of mind that you will be protected, even in the case of a dropped VPN connection. Simply turn it on during the initial setup and you are covered.

To learn more about our Kill Switch, read this guide.

DNS leaks are also a risk

DNS leaks are also a risk

Another risk to your security and privacy is a DNS leak. The risks of a DNS leak are similar to an IP leak.

A DNS server is a server that acts as an “address book” and helps browsers and apps figure out how to find websites and back-end services, based on a domain name.

If you don’t use a VPN, your default DNS server is usually your ISP’s (Internet Service Provider) DNS server. Your browsing information and app use is logged on these servers.

When you use our VPN service, you use our secure DNS servers and we do not log your browsing history. In addition, your connection to our DNS servers is encrypted end-to-end.

Don’t forget to check for a WebRTC leak

Don’t forget to check for a WebRTC leak

There is one more “gotcha” that can leak your IP address, even if you are using a VPN. It’s called a WebRTC (Web Real-Time Communication) leak.

WebRTC allows real-time communication within a browser. This enables applications such as Slack or browser push notifications to update you as soon as events happen.

This is very convenient, but there is a downside. WebRTC can give away your real address by default, even when your VPN is turned on. The WebRTC protocol does this by design and even the best VPN can’t always protect you.

Therefore, it’s important that you take the necessary precautions if you use a browser that has WebRTC enabled by default. Do a search for how to turn off WebRTC in your browser of choice, or find out if there is a WebRTC block plugin that you can install to disable WebRTC. Keep in mind that disabling WebRTC may cause some websites (like Google Hangouts) to stop working properly, so you might need to enable it in certain cases.

Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions

If you still have questions about IP address leaks and other security related issues, you are not alone. Here are answers to the most common questions that we get.

  • What causes an IP leak?

    An IP leak is basically caused by a VPN provider that does not have the technology to provide sufficient protection against general leaks and does not provide a Kill Switch for the “dropped connection” leak. Hotspot Shield provides the latest technology to protect you from these leaks.

  • How does a VPN work?

    Read our VPN Guide here.

  • How does DNS work?

    DNS or Domain Name System is a system that acts as a translator between human readable domain names and IP addresses that computers can understand. For example, a website might have a domain name and IP address that looks something like this:

    • Domain name: somewebsite.com
    • IP address: 143.84.23.14

    When you want to access somewebsite.com on your browser, you simply type that into the search/URL bar. From there, your computer connects to the most convenient DNS server (usually your ISP) to get the IP address of the server where the website is hosted.

    Once your browser has the IP address of the website’s server, it makes a request for the information that you are looking for. Most DNS servers do not care about your privacy and log all requests that come through the server.

    When you use Hotspot Shield, you will only use our private DNS server, over a fully encrypted connection, so you will be sure that your browsing information is not logged. If you do not use our private DNS server, you never know who will have access to your information.

Need assistance?

Need assistance?

If you have questions about Hotspot Shield, or general online security, contact us here. We'll assess your situation and find the best solution for you.